Tuesday, March 28, 2017
Isabella County Community Development

Victim Compensation

If you are the recent victim of a crime please click here for important information that will allow us to assist you and respond to your concerns and questions more quickly.

The Michigan Crime Victim Compensation Act was started to give financial help to crime victims who are hurt by loss of earnings or support because of a crime. Victim Assistance will be able to help with any questions you might have. Applications may be received from our office or Crime Victim Compensation Application (Form DCH-0560 (Rev. 05-14)

To receive compensation:

  • You must be a resident of the State of Michigan
  • The crime must have happened in the State of Michigan
  • The crime must be reported to the police within 48 hours and the victim must cooperate with the investigation
  • A person must have a $200-out-of-pocket medical expense and/or a loss of continuous weeks of earning or support
  • The claim must be filed within one year of the crime and one year of the death of the victim
  • In the case of death, a claim may be filed by a family member
  • Expenses or losses that are covered by personal insurance or that can be paid by another source will not be covered
  • Property loss is not covered