Monday, October 14, 2019

Human Rights Committee

hands earth250

The Human Rights Committee (HRC) meets on the first Monday of each month (except on national holidays) at 5:15 p.m. in the Isabella County Building. The meetings are open to the public and all are invited to attend and share their interests and concerns with the Human Rights Committee. View Meeting Schedule, Minutes & Meeting Archives.

The Human Rights Committee (HRC) was established in 2008 by the Isabella County Board of Commissioners. Its purpose is to review and recommend action on issues and concerns related to Human Rights. View our Human Rights Committee Information Card for more details.

f logo sm25Follow us on Facebook

Human Rights Committee will...

  • Provide programming and education to the county on issues related to enhancing positive interaction between diverse members of Isabella County.
  • Serve as a liaison between the county and other local diversity and minority organizations.
  • Collect data regarding acts of discrimination/harassment within Isabella County and share the analysis of that data, with recommendations for action, with the Board of Commissioners and the County Administrator.
  • Monitor the actions taken by appropriate governmental bodies regarding acts of discrimination/harassment reported to the Board of Commissioners and the County Administrator by the Human Rights Committee.
  • Collaborate with the County Administrator to ensure the goals of the Human Rights Committee are appropriately implemented through the Isabella County Diversity Office.
  • Provide guidance to, and participate in establishing goals for, the Diversity Coordinator.
  • Report periodically to the Board of Commissioners and the County Administrator on the extent of violations within Isabella County.

Committee Members

Maureen N. Eke
(CMU Representative)
Erica Hopcraft
(At-Large Representative)
Matt Mertz
(At-Large Representative)
(Public Schools Representative)
Sarvjit Chowdhary
(At-Large Representative)
Alicia Paterni
(At-Large Representative)
Dawn Jevicks
(At-Large Representative)
Amy Shawboose
(Tribal Representative)
Laura Gonzales
(At-Large Representative)
Elizabeth Husbands
(At-Large Representative)
Cheryl Gonzalez
(At-Large Representative)
Steve Swaney
(Board of Commissioners Representative)